Collaborative research at Stralsund University of Applied Sciences, Ernst Moritz Arndt University of Greifswald and University of Rostock on grid stability with wind and bioenergy, storages and loads under consideration of an optimal sector coupling

The research association "Netz-Stabil" was chosen within the selection procedure of the Excellence Research Programme of the State of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania. The Excellence Research Programme supports young scientists in particular and aims to strengthen the state's cutting-edge research further. The financial means are provided by the European Social Fund (ESF) for the current funding period 2014 to 2020.

 

The energy revolution on the generation side and technological changes on the consumer side are leading to a deterioration in the stability of the interconnected electrical grid. Fluctuating feed-in of regenerative generators jeopardises the balance between generated and consumed power. On the consumer side, the increasing use of inverter-fed drives leads to a weakening of the coupling between grid frequency and power consumption, and thus to a reduction of the grid attenuation. The research project is dedicated to these problems with particular reference to Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania.

 

The research association is characterised by a large number of participants from various institutions. It includes lawyers and economists from the University of Greifswald, engineers from the University of Rostock and the Stralsund University of Applied Sciences and theologians from the University of Rostock. This means that different disciplines at different locations as well as various fields of work within one location and the same fields of work at different locations work together. This broad range of activities enables an interdisciplinary dialogue and promises to be of great benefit to all parties involved.

The project is funded by the European Social Fund within the Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania Excellence Research Programme with approximately 5 million euros over a period of four years.

 

Project duration: 1.1.2017-31.03.2021

Verbundforschung der Hochschule Stralsund, Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Universität Greifswald und Universität Rostock zur Netzstabilität mit Wind- und Bioenergie, Speichern und Lasten

Der Forschungsverbund „Netz-Stabil“ hat im Rahmen des Auswahlverfahrens des Exzellenzforschungsprogramms des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern den Zuschlag erhalten. Das Exzellenzforschungsprogramm unterstützt insbesondere junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und junge Wissenschaftler und soll die Spitzenforschung des Landes weiter stärken. Die finanziellen Mittel werden durch den Europäischen Sozialfonds (ESF) der laufenden Förderperiode 2014 bis 2020 bereitgestellt.

Die Energiewende auf Erzeugerseite und der technologische Wandel auf Verbraucherseite führen zu einer Verschlechterung der Stabilität des elektrischen Verbundnetzes. Die fluktuierende Einspeisung regenerativer Erzeuger gefährdet das Gleichgewicht aus erzeugter und verbrauchter Leistung. Auf der Verbraucherseite führt der zunehmende Einsatz umrichtergespeister Antriebe zu einer Schwächung der Verkopplung zwischen Netzfrequenz und Leistungsaufnahme und so zu einer Reduktion der Netzdämpfung. Das Forschungsvorhaben widmet sich diesen Problemen mit besonderem Bezug zu Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.


Der Forschungsverbund ist durch die große Zahl der Teilnehmer aus verschiedenen Institutionen gekennzeichnet. So umfasst er Juristen und Wirtschaftswissenschaftler der Universität Greifswald, Ingenieure der Universität Rostock und der Hochschule Stralsund und Theologen der Universität Rostock. Es wirken also sowohl verschiedene Disziplinen an unterschiedlichen Standorten als auch unterschiedliche Fachgebiete innerhalb eines Standortes und gleiche Fachgebiete an unterschiedlichen Standorten zusammen. Diese breite Aufstellung ermöglicht einen interdisziplinären Dialog und verspricht einen hohen Nutzen für alle Beteiligten.

Das Vorhaben wird im Rahmen des Exzellenzforschungsprogramms des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mit ca. 5 Mio. Euro über einen Zeitraum von vier Jahren aus dem Europäischen Sozialfonds gefördert.

Projektlaufzeit: 1.1.2017-31.03.2021